Big night ahead at Clubhouse Sports Bar

The Clubhouse Sports Bar is the place to be in Cambridge on Monday night when the Cambridge Jockey Club recognises the achievements of the local horsemen and horsewomen at its awards function.

With 13 Group One races won last season by Cambridge-trained horses, it promises to be a huge night and for some recipients it will be regular visits to the stage to receive awards.

The list of Group One winners from Cambridge are: Ruud Awakening, Sangster (two), Dundeel (four), Sacred Falls, Rollout The Carpet, Veyron, Historian, Fleur de Lune and More Than Sacred.

Ruud Awakening will win the Ascot Farm Leading Two-Year-Old Award, while Dundeel, Sacred Falls, More Than Sacred and Rollout The Carpet are finalists for the Herbert Morton Leading Three-Year-Old Award.

Comte de Jeu and El Marino are the two finalists in the Hautapu Veterinary Clinic Leading Jumper Award and Fleur de Lune, Zurella and Lady Kipling are the finalists for the Crombie Lockwood Bloodstock Leading Sprinter Award.

Sangster will win The Clubhorse Sports Bar Leading Stayer Award and he is also a finalist with Veyron and Historian in the JLT Bloodstock Leading Middle-Distance Performer and a finalist in the Darryl Anderson PR Weight-For-Age Award, along with Veyron, Fleur de Lune and Lady Kipling.

Shelley Houston will receive the Group One Turf Bar Leading Jumping Rider and other award winners on the night will include Alex Forbes (Cambridge Equine Hospital Leading Apprentice Jockey), Trudy Thornton (Cambridge United Travel Leading Senior Jockey), Craig Thornton (Alan Pringle Memorial Leading Jumping Trainer), Tracy Lomas (Northern Raceday Services Leading Owner-Trainer) and Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman (Auckland Racing Club Leading Trainer on Premier Days and Bruce Macdonald Memorial Leading Trainer).

With no disclosed finalists, there will be much interest in the winners of the Alan Bremner Memorial Contribution to Cambridge Racing Award, the Cambridge Jockey Club Outstanding Achiever Of The Year, the Cambridge Stud CJC Horse Of The Year, and the Jen Campin Bloodstock Breeder Of The Horse Of The Year.

The Waikato Apprentice Jockeys’ School prizegiving will also be made on the evening, which starts at 7pm.