Plan works to trick Barkla at awards function

The biggest applause at last night’s Cambridge Jockey Club Awards function at The Clubhouse in Cambridge came when the “true” winner of the Alan Bremner Memorial Contribution to Cambridge Racing Award was announced.

Gayle Barkla, a stalwart of the CJC and office manager/secretary for many years, was the recipient of the award, but not before a trick was played on her and the whole audience.

Tony Pike was called upon to make the award and reading out the citation it was announced George Simon, the CJC President, was the winner. But when Simon went up to receive the award, he revealed it was all a hoax to prevent the real winner from finding out.

Explaining the recipient was to be kept in the dark until the night, Simon went on to name Barkla as the award winner.

“It was an absolute surprise and huge thrill,” said Barkla. “Brem (Bremer) was a special person, so it means a lot to me.”

Meanwhile, the busiest person on the night was local trainer Andrew Forsman, who, in the absence of his senior co-trainer Murray Baker, spent most of the evening going up to collect awards, including six for the stable star (It’s A) Dundeel, on a night when 13 Group One wins by Cambridge horses were celebrated.

Dundeel received individual awards for each of his four Group One wins as well as the Herbert Morton Leading Three-Year-Old Award and the main prize, the Cambridge Stud CJC Horse Of The Year.

As well, Dundeel’s breeders, Murray and Jo Anderson, picked up the Jen Campin Bloodstock Breeder of the Horse Of The Year award, and Forsman collected the awards for the Auckland Racing Club Leading Trainer on Premier Racedays and the Bruce MacDonald Memorial Leading Trainer.

Sangster’s part-owner Martin Bradley picked up the awards for his horse’s two Group One wins (Auckland Cup and Darci Brahma International Stakes) and also the Clubhouse Sports Bar Leading Stayer Award.

There were no surprises in most of the categories with Ruud Awakening (two-year-old), El Marino (jumper), Fleur de Lune (sprinter-miler), Veyron (middle distance and weight-for-age) taking the various awards. Shelley Houston was named leading jumps rider, Alex Forbes, leading apprentice from the Cambridge centre, Trudy Thornton, leading jockey, and Craig Thornton, leading jumps jockey.

Tracey Lomas, who had a fine season with Lucky Charm, was the leading owner-trainer and Tony Pike and Mark Donoghue received the Cambridge Jockey Club Outstanding Achiever of The Year award.

As well as Dundeel and Sangster, the list of Group One winners from Cambridge last season consisted of Ruud Awakening, Rollout The Carpet, Sacred Falls, More Than Sacred, Fleur de Lune, Veyron and Historian. It was a record-breaking achievement by Cambridge.




  • Ascot Farm Leading Two Year Old Award

           Winner – RUUD AWAKENING       

  • Herbert Morton Leading Three-Year-Old Award

            Winner –  DUNDEEL

  • Hautapu Veterinary Clinic Leading Jumper Award

           Winner  –   EL MARINO

  • Crombie Lockwood Bloodstock Leading Sprinter/Miler Award

           Winner –    FLEUR DE LUNE

  • JLT Bloodstock Insurance Leading Middle Distance Award

            Winner –    VEYRON

  • The Clubhouse Sports Bar  Leading Stayer Award

            Winner –    SANGSTER

  • Darryl Anderson PR Weight-for-Age Award

           Winner –    VEYRON

  • Group One Turf Bar Leading  Jumping Rider

             Winner –    SHELLEY HOUSTON

  • Cambridge Equine Hospital Leading Apprentice Jockey

            Winner –    ALEX FORBES

  • Cambridge United Travel Leading Senior Jockey

            Winner –   TRUDY THORNTON

  • Alan Pringle Memorial Leading Jumping Trainers

            Winner –   CRAIG THORNTON

  • Northern Raceday Services  Leading Owner/Trainer

            Winner –  TRACY LOMAS

  • Auckland Racing Club Leading Trainer on Premier Race Days

            Winner –   MURRAY BAKER & ANDREW FORSMAN

  • Bruce Macdonald Memorial Leading Trainer

           Winner –   MURRAY BAKER & ANDREW FORSMAN

  • Majestic Horse Floats Group One Award  –   RUUD AWAKENING
  • Cogswell Surveys Group One Award   –   ROLL OUT THE CARPET
  • Porritt Sand Group One Award   –   FLEUR DE LUNE
  • Mana Park Group One Award   –   VEYRON
  • Spraylink Agricultural Weed Spraying Group One Award   –   HISTORIAN
  • Trelawney Stud Group One Award   –        SACRED FALLS
  • Blickeez Horse Floats Group One Award   –        MORE THAN SACRED
  • Fairview Ford Group One Award         –   SANGSTER
  • Cambridge Farriers Group One Award  –        SANGSTER
  • NZ Bloodstock Insurance Group      One Award   –   DUNDEEL
  • Windsor Park Stud Group One Award  –       DUNDEEL
  • Horse Transport Services Group One Award   –   DUNDEEL
  • Henley Park Group One Award   –        DUNDEEL
  • Alan Bremner Memorial Contribution to Cambridge Racing Award

           Winner –     GAYLE BARKLA                                  

  • Cambridge Jockey Club Outstanding Achiever of the Year

           Winner – TONY PIKE and MARK DONOGHUE

  • Cambridge Stud CJC Horse of the Year

           Winner – DUNDEEL

  • Jen Campin Bloodstock Breeder of the Horse of the Year Award

           Winners –  MURRAY and JO ANDERSON