Awards galore for Ritchie and Baker

Shaune Ritchie and Murray Baker spent most of the time during last night’s Cambridge Jockey Club Awards evening walking back up to the stage.

The two Cambridge trainers scooped 13 awards between them, either in direct recognition of their own achievements or those of their stable stars,
at a sold-out function at the Club House in Cambridge. It was indeed a huge season for Cambridge-trained horses who picked up 10 Group 1 wins.

Ritchie picked up the Lammermoor Farm Leading Sprinter-Miler Award and the Cambridge Farriers Leading Weight-For-Age Award with his top mare
Keep The Peace, who also took the Cambridge Stud CJC Horse Of The Year title. Keep The Peace was also recognised for her two Group I wins  during the season and Ritchie’s other occasion on the stage was to receive the Auckland Racing Club Leading Trainer on Premier Race Days, which he shared with Murray and Bjorn Baker.

Murray Baker also won the Bruce MacDonald Memorial Leading Trainer Award and Lion Tamer and We Can Say It Now were recognised for their Group 1 wins, the latter landing two during the term.  Lion Tamer and We Can Say It Now also shared the honours in the Herbert Morton Leading Three-Year-Old Award.

James McDonald was honoured as the leading apprentice, Matt Cameron as Cambridge’s leading senior jockey, Roger and Sheryl McGlade as leading jumping trainers from the centre, Peter Stewart and Tony Devcich as leading owner-trainers and Richard Cully as top jumps jockey.

Two of the most popular winners were Peggy Eriksen and Gary Alton, who were both stunned when their names were announced. Eriksen won the
Alan Bremner Memorial Contribution to Cambridge Racing and Alton was recognised as Cambridge Jockey Club Outstanding Achiever Of The Year.

Eriksen has been integral in the success of the Cambridge Jockey Club, being employed at the track for 28 years, and her speech touched
the hearts of all in attendance. Along with his partner Catherine Cameron, Alton concentrates on a small team and he celebrated his best season training with 14 wins from 62 starters.

Also on the night the Waikato Apprentice Awards were made with Shohei Shirahama, Maija Vance, Harry Kasim, Shaun Phelan, Racha Cuneen and Alex Forbes being among the winners.





  • JLT  Bloodstock Leading Two Year Old  Award      –  ANABANDANA
  • Herbert Morton Leading Three Year Olds Award      –    WE CAN SAY IT NOW and LION TAMER
  • Hautapu Veterinary Clinic Leading Jumper Award        –      KARLOS
  • Lammermoor Farm Leading Sprinter/Miler Award       –     KEEP THE PEACE
  • Cambridge Farriers Ltd Leading Weight For Age Award       –   KEEP THE PEACE
  • FMR Bloodstock Insurance Leading Stayer (4yo and up)        –   SHOWCAUSE
  • Group One Turf Bar Leading Jumping Rider       –        RICHARD CULLY
  • Cambridge Equine Hospital Leading Apprentice Jockey –  JAMES McDONALD
  • Cambridge United Travel Leading Senior Jockey     –   MATT CAMERON
  • Alan Pringle Memorial Leading Jumping Trainers      –     ROGER and SHERYL MCGLADE
  • Northern Raceday Services Leading Owner/Trainers   –   PETER STEWART and TONY DEVCICH
  • Auckland Racing Club Leading Trainer on Premier Race Days  –MURRAY and BJORN BAKER  and SHAUNE RITCHIE
  • Bruce Macdonald Memorial Leading Trainer      –     MURRAY and BJORN BAKER
  • Majestic Horse Floats Group One Award    –   KEEP THE PEACE
  • Nationwide Horse Transport Group One Award    –   LION TAMER
  • The Clubhouse Sports Bar Group One Award      –   WE CAN SAY IT NOW
  • Fairweather Farm Group One Award    –   WE CAN SAY IT NOW
  • Fairview Ford Group One Award   –    KEEP THE PEACE
  • Majestic Horse Floats Group One Award    –   ANABANDANA
  • Windsor Park Stud Group One Award       –     THE PARTY STAND
  • Cogswell Surveys Group One Award   –    MIDNIGHT OIL
  • Cambridge Grains Group One Award      –    ANABANDANA
  • Trelawney Stud Group One Award  –    VEYRON
  • Alan Bremner Memorial Contribution to Cambridge Racing Award  –   PEGGY ERIKSEN
  • Cambridge Jockey Club Outstanding Achiever of the Year    –  GARY ALTON
  • Cambridge Stud CJC Horse of the Year    –    KEEP THE PEACE